Queensland Family History Society Inc


Your Cart is Empty
You have    Item Items   in your cart
Total Price 
View Cart


QFHS Awards


QFHS Fellows

QFHS Fellows receive the highest and most esteemed award of the Queensland Family History Society.
The honour, QFHS Fellow, is conferred to a member to acknowledge:

  • Long and sustained positive promotion of the Society in all facets of family history and genealogy,
  • Ideas related to family history and genealogy carried through for the benefit of the Society, which raise the Society's stature or finances,
  • Continuous contribution to the running of the Society.
QFHS Fellow Date
Shauna Hicks Inaugural QFHS Fellow 2014 
Eric Kopittke Inaugural QFHS Fellow 2014 
Rosemary Kopittke Inaugural QFHS Fellow 2014 
The late Dorothy Grice Inaugural QFHS Fellow 2014  
Ann Swain Inaugural QFHS Fellow 2014  
Tony Swain Inaugural QFHS Fellow 2014 
Dorothy Jeffrey 4 November 2016
John Perryn 4 November 2016
Sue Reid 12 October 2020
















Award for Services to Family History

The Award for Services to Family History is presented annually to QFHS members who have made a significant contribution to family history. The award ceremony takes place at the Volunteers' Morning Tea each year.
Download and complete the nomination form available here (up to 500 words) send it to the Secretary by 1 October. Please include your membership number.

Recipients of the QFHS Award for Services to Family History


Family History Book Award

Each year the Queensland Family History Society presents an Award for the best history of a Queensland family published in book form within the last five years.

Books submitted as entries must be the story of a family, not an individual. The entries must have significant Queensland content and some reference to the origins of the family prior to arrival in Australia. An index and the citation of references are of prime importance; maps, data and genealogical tables and illustrations are also important.

Entries close on 30 November and prizes are presented at the Society’s Annual General Meeting in June. We are currently accepting entries for the Award to be presented at the AGM in June 2024. Entries close on 30 November 2023. Members and non-members may submit entries.

The award for the first prize winner in 2022 will be $250 and 12 months free single membership of the Society. The winning entry or entries will be reviewed in our journal The Queensland Family Historian.

Recipients of the QFHS Book Award


Journal Article of the Year: Members’ Choice Award

In 2021, QFHS established a Members' Choice Award for the Queensland Family Historian (QFH) Journal Article of the Year. This award is decided by a poll of members of the Society and is open to members and non-members who have had articles published in the QFH in the calendar year. 

The Award if a commemorative certificate and a gift card.

The winner for 2022 is Bill the Bastard by Lyndal Cosgrove 

Read the winning entries here.


AFFHO Awards

The Award for Meritorious Service to Family History, the most prestigious award in the field of Family History in Australasia, is presented by the Australasian Federation of Family History Organisations (AFFHO). Member societies of AFFHO can nominate candidates and the AFFHO Council selects the successiful nominees. 

QFHS Recipients of the Award for Meritorious Service to Family History